En liten tanke

”Have you ever had the experience where you hear a strange word for the first time, and then soon afterwards hear the same strange word again?”
“That happens all the time” I said. “It’s freaky. It’s as if hearing a word for the first time makes it appear everywhere. Like fescue. I never heard of that word until I saw it on a package of grass seed in the store last week. That night I was at a party and some guy used the word. I’m fairly sure I’ve never heard that word before in my entire life, then I heard it twice in a manner of hours. What are the odds of that?”
/…/
“Your brain can only process a tiny portion of your environment”, he said. “It risks being overwhelmed by the volume of information that bombards you every waking moment. Your brain compensates by filtering out the 99,9 percent of your environment that doesn’t matter to you. When you took notice of the word fescue for the first time, and rolled it around in your head, your mind tuned itself to the world. That’s why you heard it again soon”
“It’s still a coincidence. I don’t think people are saying fescue around me every day”
“Yes, probability is still involved. But fescue /…/ were only a few of the unusual words and ideas that you tuned your brain to this week. The others didn’t cross your path again so you took no notice of their absence. When you consider all of the coincidence that are possible, it is not surprising that you experience a few every day”

Detta om detta. Jag säger det igen, läs Scott Adams “Gods Debris”. Finns inget mysigare att kura ihop med just nu. Eller ja kanske något annat… men det lämnar vi därhän ;P

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback